Magazines / Databases

Databases

These are electronic collections of magazine articles, books, facts and pictures. Thanks to the Massachusetts Library System, we now have many new databases. Explore a little--especially if you're a college student and have a paper to write. Have your library card number ready in case you need to type it for access.

NEW! The Library now has subscriptions to 2 Genealogy websites. You can use Ancestry.com's library version here in the building, and users at home can use Heritage Quest to research census records, books and much more. You will need your library card number to use this handy link:

Heritage Quest--National Genealogy website.

Access to both these genealogy websites is funded by the Friends of the Fitchburg Public Library.

General resources Newspapers Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Literature & Art Home & Garden Health, Science & Current Events History Business Kids & Teens Education Library Catalogs BPL eCard

General Resources

   
Full Suite of Gale Databases Magazines, journals, newspapers, encyclopedia for all ages Access to thousands of popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers (including New York Times 1985+ and Boston Globe 1980+), Encyclopaedia Britannica, biographies, health and prescription drug information, US and World History, newswires, business directories, investment reports, K-12 resources and electronic reference books.
Academic OneFile
Expanded Academic ASAP
General Reference Center Gold
Gale Virtual Reference Library --reference books like Videohound's Golden Movie Retriever

Jstor Over 1500 academic journals. You can sign up to read 3 articles every 14 days. You can also get more articles by getting a Boston Public Library e-card--see details at the bottom of this page.

[top]

Newspapers

Fitchburg Sentinel & Enterprise--You will need your library card number

Boston Globe (1980 - current)

The New York Times --Search back to 1982

[top]

 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Biographies

Encyclopedia Britannica Online -Encyclopedias now include video!
Britannica Online School Edition
Britannica Learning Zone Early Childhood Interactive Resource
Britannica Spanish Reference Center Includes Enciclopedia Moderna, a reference collection for high school and college students, and Escolar Online, geared for ages 6-12
Annals of American History -Access to original Source Documents
World Data Analyst - Current and Historical statistics on countries of the world
Biography In Context

[top]

Literature and Art

Books and Authors-Get ideas for something new to read
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Literature Resource Center

[top]

Health, Science, and Current Events

Health Reference Center Academic
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Nursing Resource Center
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Global Issues in Context--World events affect everyone
Opposing Viewpoints in Context-Get both sides of many issues
Science in Context

[top]

History

U.S. History in Context--How does history affect our actions today?
World History in Context
Massachusetts History Online

[top]

Home and Garden

Culinary Arts Collection-includes searchable recipes
Gardening, Horticulture and Landscape Collection-growing info for the amateur and professional

Business

General Business File
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

[top]

Kids & Teens

Infotrac K-12 Junior Edition
Infotrac K-12 Student Edition
Kids InfoBits

[top]

Education

Criminal Justice Collection
Culinary Arts Collection
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Educator's Reference Complete
Vocational and Careers Collection

 

Library Catalogs & Other Library Resources

Fitchburg Public Library Catalog--Start here to look up materials in our library and the Central/Western region
Digital Catalog--Download books, audiobooks, movies & more!

 

Funding for these online resources is provided by:

Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Regional Library Systems and C/W MARS.

Get a BPL eCard for even more Databases!

Massachusetts residents can sign up for a Boston Public Library eCard via the web! BPL eCards are virtual library cards that allow users immediate access to Boston Public Library's extensive electronic resources - from archaeology and genealogy to history and science, homework help, historical newspapers, downloadable audio, video, music and more.

For more information about eCards, please visit BPL's eCard FAQ.

10.22.13

 

 

look below

Make the Fitchburg Library Your Starting Place

The Fitchburg Library makes sense of all the facts, helping you sort and manage the ever-expanding flood of information. You'll always find the right answer at your library. You are welcome here. Please come visit often!

 

look above