Youth Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 6 p.m.
  • Meets on an as-needed basis
  • Fitchburg High School
    140 Arn-How Farm Road
    Fitchburg, MA 01420

Agendas & Minutes

View most recent agendas and minutes.

Current Commissioners

  • Solveig Schilling, Chairperson
  • Nazanin Beigi
  • Sophia Goncalves
  • Alyssa Phillips
  • Vinnie Rodriguez
  • Angela Salazar
  • Gabriela Upson
  • Alyssa Valcourt
  • Amanda Valcourt
  • Jillian Wolons
  • Micaela Canessa

Purpose & Responsibilities

The Youth Commission’s goal is to provide City youth with a voice. The commission creates an avenue for youth to influence decision making in the City and create the opportunity to increase youth participation throughout the community.

Additionally the commission is tasked with recommending plans and programs to benefit the City’s youth, working on key issues like financial stability, education, mentorship opportunities and engagement. The Commission shall further exercise all powers and responsibilities granted by Chapter 3 Article 25 of the City Code.


The Youth Commission is comprised of 13 volunteer residents, of which 8 are adults and 5 are youths between the ages of 12 - 17 years. Volunteers are appointed for a three year term by the Mayor and are subject to City Council approval.