Historical Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 3:00 - 5:00 p.m.
  • Last Thursday of every month
    Please note:  October's meeting will be held on October 24th, NOT the 31st.
  • Fitchburg Public Library
    610 Main Street
    Fitchburg, MA 01420
  • Email 

Agendas & Minutes

Current Commissioners

  • Stephen Twining, Chair
  • Don Ostrowski, Clerk/Secretary
  • Ellen M. DiGeronimo
  • Keith Chenot
  • Sam Blair
  • Susan Roetzer
  • Charles Sternaimolo

Purpose & Responsibilities

The Historical Commission was established under the provisions of the Historic Districts Act, General Laws Chapter 40C and Chapter 40 section 8D, subject to the provisions of Chapter 3 Article 30. Historical Commission is concerned with the preservation, promotion and development of the city's historical assets. The commission also oversees the Monument Park Historic District that is centered on Monument Park in Downtown Fitchburg.


The Historical Commission is comprised of seven volunteers. Per Chapter 3 Article 30 of the City Code, of those volunteers on must be a representative of each of the following organizations: The Fitchburg Historical Society, the American Institute of Architects, and the Board of Realtors.

Additionally it is encouraged that additional volunteers be sought to include a lawyer, a professional historian, a member of the Planning Board, or residents of the Historic District. Volunteers are appointed by the Mayor and are subject to confirmation by the City Council. Commissioner’s terms are for a period of three years.