Public Library Board of trustees

Regular Meetings

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • 2nd Wednesday of every month
  • Fitchburg Public Library
    610 Main St
    Ethnic Heritage Room
    Fitchburg, MA 01420


  • Matthew Bruun, Chair
  • Joanne Huse, Treasurer
  • Cynthia Jones, Secretary
  • Sabrina Holley-Williams
  • Mary Rice Hurley
  • Muna Kangsen
  • Jacalyn Kremer
  • Eric Mbunwe
  • Dennis Pierce
  • Jim Walsh

Deb Hinkle, Director

Trustees can be reached by email, or by sending mail to their attention c/o the Library, 610 Main Street, Fitchburg MA 01420. Please include your street address and phone number. Email the Trustees at

Purpose and Responsibilities

The Board of Trustees for the Public Library is responsible for the care, supervision, custody, and management of the Fitchburg Public Library building, books, and of all property of the City relating thereto. The trustees are also responsible for hiring and evaluating the library director.

They have the  power to make any necessary regulations related to their responsibility, and the ability to expend fundraised or appropriated funds to support and maintain the Library in accordance with the provisions of any gift or bequest, subject to the provisions of City Code Chapter 29.


In accordance with Chapter 29, the Library Board of Trustees is composed of 12 volunteers, who are appointed for three year terms by the Mayor, subject to City Council approval.